You Do You, I’ll Do Me.

Most of the time, when I hear or use the phrase, “you do you, I’ll do me”, it’s surrounding a situation where two (or more) people are irritated with the other people involved and want to go their separate ways. Example: A bad break-up, in which one person says to their seconds-away-from-being-ex-gf/bf, ‘you know what, you do you and I’ll do me. Whatever, we’re done, bye’. (I realize that sounds a bit like bad, bad writing from a 90’s sitcom that rightfully never exited, but hey, you get the idea.)

In today’s case though, I’m using that phrase with a different spin. Last week, I was in a failure competition with a good friend of mine. (More on this on the blog later this week.) This week, the two of us have decided to be ourselves. This week, he’ll do him and I’ll do me. Sounds simple right? Or does it…?

It’s easy for us to say that we’re ourselves around everybody and in all situations, but that is rarely always true. *If you are one of the people in life who is your truest form of yourself in all situations at all times, then please, send your guru knowledge to the rest of us!* Personally, I don’t ever actually change in a given situation. I have my core base of ‘Me’ and adapt qualities, feelings, etc. depending on situations. Most of us do this everyday. However, there are times when I take a step back and look at how I acted/reacted in situations and I can’t see myself at all. In the words of one of the strongest Disney heroines, “who is that girl I see, staring straight back at me?” Identity struggles happen in both fairytales and real life (this is just one beam of proof that we do in fact live  charmed, fairytale-esque lives!). One of the most common threads to my ‘un-selfness’ is backing down on my ideas because others disagree with them. This is something that I will never perfect. I will however, keep getting better at holding my ground and following through on my ideas because I agree with them. When I deny my ideas, I’m denying my soul the opportunity to shine its brightest. In a sense, I’m denying myself the chance to breathe fully, passionately, and expressively.

This week, I will be more conscious of myself and whether I am present and giving myself the fullest amount of love and confidence I deserve. I will fully support myself in all I do. After all, how can I expect others to support me if I don’t even do it myself?

Go be your bright-loving-creative-strong-savvy-flashing-powerful-genius-self this week. You do YOU. I’ll be over here doing ME.

KNOW THIS—-> “You being yourself, helps others be themselves. Because you recognize your own uniqueness, you will not need to dominate others, nor cringe before them.” -Jane Roberts

Be Epic.

4 thoughts on “You Do You, I’ll Do Me.

  1. I think you’re right, being totally yourself is something not many people do in company. You have the core you, and the periphery you. Plus of course, ‘you’ changes from moment to moment. Still, better you than not you.

Leave a Reply

