Feel Your Fashion

“Fashions fade, style is eternal.” –Yves Saint Laurent

“How many cares one loses when on  decides not to be something but to be someone.” –Coco Chanel

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Fashion is everywhere. I have to admit (like most people) that I enjoy clothes and giving life a good ol’ 1-2-punch when it comes to looking fancy. However, fashion has always been more to me than just clothing, shoes, hair, bags, and all those are those bits. It would seem that fashion’s a stitch more (pun intended, naturally…) than just outward looks to Coco and Yves as well. To me, fashion is a totally body experience; an experience with the soul. It’s a flirty experiment, fashion, with how you see yourself and what you show for others to see. Take today for instance. I am totally diggin’ my Black Onyx O.P.I. nails. I love them not only because they are both classic and a bit edgy but also because they make me feel solid, brave, and charming. Fashion is a range feelings as much as it is a mirage of looks. A word of advice, don’t wear something simply because it is “in the now”. Wear things that make you feel something positive. Wear things that show off the best assets of both your body AND your spirit. The world will love you for it–even if they don’t get it. People may not always ‘agree’ with your material fashion sense (clothes, accessories, etc.), but it’s often difficult to disagree (well, for me anyway) with the part of someone’s fashion sense that radiates from their core– that part of their fashion that is their style.  That part of someone that says ‘I feel good. I am confused. I feel bold. I am open. I am pained. I am honest. I accept myself. I love myself.’ and a multitude of other things, is beautiful, intelligent, and vulnerable. Anyone who is willing to bear their feelings to the world like this is incredible. Be INCREDIBLE. Everyday.

What does your style radiate to the world? What does fashion mean to you?

Ps. I get  your discomfort as  a result of wearing super fashionable and appealing, yet toe crunching and heel chaffing, death-grip shoes though. We’ve all been there. Fashion can hurt, so be wary not to let it lash out at you too much!

6 thoughts on “Feel Your Fashion

  1. Pingback: Are you putting yourself last? « mhutchess

  2. Pingback: Style is Eternal « Hocus Pocus

  3. Pingback: Style is Eternal! (Republished from original blog “Hocus Pocus Gals” 2012) « Lief Gloss

  4. Pingback: Are you putting yourself last? | MHutchess

Leave a Reply

